In a hospital – dialogi

hospital-insurance-xsmall

 

Making a Doctor’s Appointment – umówienie się na wizytę

Doctor’s Assistant: Good morning, Doctor Jensen’s office. How may I help you?
Patient: Hello, I’d like to make an appointment to see Doctor Jensen, please.

Doctor’s Assistant: Have you been in to see Doctor Jensen before?
Patient: Yes, I have. I had a physical last year.

Doctor’s Assistant: Fine, what is your name?
Patient: This is Maria Sanchez.

Doctor’s Assistant: Thank you Ms Sanchez, let me pull up your file.
Patient: I haven’t been feeling very well lately.

Doctor’s Assistant: Do you need urgent care?
Patient: No, not necessarily, but I’d like to see the doctor soon.

Doctor’s Assistant: Of course, how about next Monday? There’s a slot available at 10 in the morning.
Patient: I’m afraid I’m working at 10. Is there anything available after three?

Doctor’s Assistant: Let me see. Not on Monday, but we have a three o’clock opening next Wednesday. Would you like to come in then?
Patient: Yes, next Wednesday at three would be great.

Doctor’s Assistant: Alright, I’ll pencil you in for three o’clock next Wednesday.
Patient: Thank you for your help.

Doctor’s Assistant: You’re welcome. We’ll see you next week. Goodbye.
Patient: Goodbye.

 

doctors-appointment-L-abTx8a

 

Some Troubling Symptoms

Patient: Good afternoon.

Doctor: Good afternoon. Have a seat. So, what have you come in for today?
Patient: Thank you. I’m feeling ill, I’ve got quite a bad cough, but I don’t seem to have a fever.

Doctor: I see. How long have you had these symptoms?
Patient: Oh, I’ve had the cough for two weeks, but feeling ill just these past few days.

Doctor: Are you having any other problems?
Patient: Well, I’ve got a headache. I’ve also had a little bit of diarrhea.

Doctor: Do you produce any phlegm when coughing?
Patient: Sometimes, but it’s usually pretty dry.

Doctor: Do you smoke?
Patient: Yes, a few cigarettes a day. Certainly no more than a half a pack a day.

Doctor: How about allergies? Do you have any allergies?
Patient: Not that I’m aware of.

Doctor: Does your head feel stuffy?
Patient: Yes, for the past few days.

Doctor: OK. Now let’s have a look. Could you please open your mouth and say ‚ah’?

 

playing-doctor

 

Helping a Patient

Patient: Nurse, I think I might have a fever. It’s so cold in here!
Nurse: Here, let me check your forehead.

Patient: What do you think?
Nurse: Your temperature seems raised. Let me get a thermometer to check.

Patient: How do I raise my bed? I can’t find the controls.
Nurse: Here you are. Is that better?

Patient: Could I have another pillow?
Nurse: Certainly, Here you are. Is there anything else I can do for you?

Patient: No, thank you.
Nurse: OK, I’ll be right back with the thermometer.

Patient: Oh, just a moment. Can you bring me another bottle of water, too?
Nurse: Certainly, I’ll be back in a moment.

 

il_340x270.488139017_n53b

 

Getting Patient Details

Administrative Staff: Hello, how can I help you?
Patient: I’ve got an appointment with Dr. Adams.

Administrative Staff: Are you Ms Moyers?
Patient: Yes, I am. I have an appointment at ten.

Administrative Staff: We just need to fill in some information for our files. Could you fill out these forms?
Patient: Certainly … (comes back after filling out the forms) What’s this form for?

Administrative Staff: It’s just a privacy form informing you of our policies.
Patient: Is that really necessary?

Administrative Staff: I’m afraid it is. Could you also sign that form?
Patient: OK, there you go. Here’s my insurance provider’s card.

Administrative Staff: Thank you. OK, that’ll be $20.
Patient: Why do I have to pay $20?

Administrative Staff: It’s the deductible for office visits required by your health care provider.
Patient: … but I’m insured aren’t I?

Administrative Staff: Yes, of course. Your health care provider asks for deductibles on office visits.
Patient: Every time I turn around I’ve got some additional fee to pay. I don’t know why I pay for insurance!

Administrative Staff: I know it’s frustrating. We also have a lot of paperwork. Every provider has different forms and requirements!
Patient: This can’t continue on like this!

Administrative Staff: I agree with that!

 

źródło: http://esl.about.com/

 

 

