Opublikowany w Uncategorized

On the phone

26038-sp

Introducing yourself
Good morning, Swissair. (How can I help you?)
Hello, the Grand Hotel. Hannah Brown speaking. (What can I do for you?)
Hello, this is … from … .
Hello, my name’s … . I’m calling from … .

Asking for the caller’s name
Who’s calling, please?
Can I have your name, please?

Saying who you want
Can I have the accounts department?
I’d like to speak to … .
Could I speak to …, please?
Is … there, please?
I’m calling about … .

Responding

I’ll put you through.
Hold the line, please.
I’m sorry he/ she is not available.
I’m afraid he/ she’s busy at the moment.
I’m afraid he/ she’s away/ not in at the moment/ in a meeting.

Reason for calling
I’m ringing to … .
I’d like to … .
I need some information about … .

Leaving and taking a message
Can I leave a message?
Can I take a message?
Would you like to leave a message?
Please tell him/ her … .
Could you ask him/ her to call me?
Could you tell him/ her I called?

Asking for repetition
I’m sorry, but I didn’t catch your name/ your number.
Sorry, I didn’t hear that.
Could you repeat it, please?
Could you say it again? I’m afraid I didn’t understand.
Could you spell that, please?
Could you speak up?

źródło: A PRACTICAL ENGLISH HANDBOOK FOR BACHELOR STUDENTS

 

